ADA Recognizes Exemplary Audiologists at AuDacity 2017

The 2017 AuDacity Conference brought together some of the best and brightest audiologists within the profession! On Tuesday, September 26th, several outstanding audiologists were recognized for their significant contributions to the profession of audiology.

ADA President, Dr. Angela Morris, presented Jana Brown, Au.D., with the Leo Doerfler Award to commemorate the outstanding clinical services that she has provided in her community throughout her career.

"Dr. Brown is a most deserving recipient who exemplifies outstanding clinical services and the very best in patient care,” said Dr. Morris. “Over the course of her 30-year career, she has consistently demonstrated outstanding efforts to accommodate patients, and to meet them where they are.”

Dr. Morris presented Debra Abel, Au.D., the Joel Wernick Award, which recognizes an outstanding educational contribution within the profession of audiology or the field of hearing science.

"Dr. Abel is a true renaissance woman, widely recognized for her expertise in the areas of billing, coding, and reimbursement,” noted Dr. Morris. “Dr. Abel is an avid teacher and transformative leader who is widely sought after to present at training seminars, to author articles, and to answer one-on-one questions on quality outcome measures and practice operations.”

Dr. Morris presented Kristin Davis, Au.D. and Alexandra Tarvin, Au.D. with the Craig W. Johnson Audiology Advocate Award, which was established to honor the memory and accomplishments of Craig W. Johnson and to recognize an individual who has made significant contributions to the profession of audiology through federal and/or state advocacy.

According to Dr. Morris, “Drs. Davis and Tarvin have been instrumental in advancing the Audiology Patient Choice Act in Congress. They have mobilized legislators and audiologists to secure public policy changes that will improve patient care and provide professional parity for audiologists with other clinical doctoring professionals. Dr. Davis and Dr. Tarvin are the examples to follow for effective advocacy to move the profession forward.”

Dr. Morris presented the South Carolina Academy of Audiology (SCAA) with the President’s Service Award for Advocacy, to recognize SCAA’s contributions to ADA’s advocacy efforts in support of its mission.

“The South Carolina Academy of Audiology was the first organization to endorse the Audiology Patient Choice Act in 2013,” noted Dr. Morris. “Since that time, SCAA and its members have worked tirelessly to promote this legislation to audiology members and members of Congress. We cannot thank them enough for their hard work!”

The Academy of Doctors of Audiology is dedicated to the advancement of best business and clinical practices in the delivery of audiologic care. Please contact Stephanie Czuhajewski at for more information.